latest news

2017 Bissel Award

Nominations for the Jean Galloway Bissell Award Now Open!

The South Carolina Women Lawyers Association is proud to honor Judge Bissell by creating its annual award in her name. SCWLA accepts nominations for the Jean Galloway Bissell Award each calendar year. The award is presented at SCWLA’s annual award reception in the fall. Selection criteria include the nominee's distinguished and noteworthy service to the public and the legal profession; achievement of professional excellence; and participation in activities that have paved the way to success for women lawyers on the national, state or local level.  All nominations must be received by Friday, August 25, 2017

Nominations should include specific examples of how the nominee has influenced women to pursue legal careers, opened doors for women lawyers in settings historically closed to them or advanced opportunities for women within a practice area or segment of the profession. In addition, the nomination should describe the nominee's career, excellence, and service to the bar and community.

In recent years, many nominations have been submitted along with letters of support from people able to personally attest to the nominee's history of actions which paved the way for women lawyers, illustrated their commitment to public service and their noteworthy contributions to the legal profession. You may also submit any other documentation you believe evidences why the nominee is deserving of this distinction. Any individual nominated for the Bissell Award last year will automatically be considered for this year's award. Supplemental materials in support of a nomination made last year may be submitted by the deadline (August 25) for new nominations.

Click here for the Nomination Form. 
Nomination will be accepted:
via email to [email protected] or
via U.S. Mail by mailing materials to Bissell Award Committee c/o SCWA, P.O. Box, 11910 Columbia, SC 29211